Mohawk Search Crawler is now Open Source!

Mohawk Search is a search engine I’m running here. This is the source code of the backend web crawler that crawls the web and saves the information gathered into a text file called spider.dat. You will need a file called “seeds.txt” with one URL per line.

Please feel free to use it in your project. If you have any questions, write to on twitter at @stingraze or tsubasa_kato@hotmail.com ! I will be happy to assist you.

I’ve made the crawler project available on GitHub today here.

#! /usr/bin/perl
#COPYRIGHT Ppctweakies 2003-2015
use Getopt::Std;
use vars qw($opt_i $opt_r);
 
use Encode::Guess qw/ euc-jp shiftjis utf8 7bit-jis /;
 
use Encode qw/ from_to /;
use Fcntl ':flock'; 
 
require WWW::RobotRules;
require LWP::UserAgent;
 
 
$| = 1; # Disable STDOUT buffering
 
my $config_file = "spider.conf";
my $keywords_regexp    = "<meta[^>]+name\s*\=\s*\"keywords\"[^>]+content\s*\=\s*\"([^\">]*)";
my $description_regexp = "<meta[^>]+name\s*\=\s*\"description\"[^>]+content\s*\=\s*\"([^\">]*)";
 
#============================================
# DEFAULT CONFIG SETTINGS
#============================================
my $seeds_file  = "seeds.txt";
my $db_file     = "spider.dat";
my $db_layout   = "##URL##\t##KEYWORDS##\t##DESCRIPTION##\n";
my $max_description_length = 400;
my $max_keywords_length    = 800;
my $generate_keywords      = 1;
 
my $guess_encoding_problems     = 1;
my $encoding_problems_threshold = 0.2;
 
my $max_iterations = 4;
my $max_db_size    = 100000;
 
my @exclude_url_rules = ();
my @include_url_rules = ('^http:\/\/.*$');
my @exclude_content_types_rules = ();
my @include_content_types_rules = ('text\/html', 'text\/plain');
my $page_max_size = 200000;
my $ignore_robot_rules = 0;
 
my $fetch_timeout = 3;
my $user_agent = "Mozilla/5.0 (Windows; U; Windows NT 6.0; ko; rv:1.9.1.3) Gecko/20090824 Firefox/3.5.3 (.NET CLR 3.5.30729)";
my $max_redirects = 7;
my $fetch_pause = 3;
 
my $use_proxy = 0;
my $proxy_url = 'http://127.0.0.1:8080';
 
#============================================
 
# Read configuration file
open (CONFIG, $config_file) or die "Unable to open configuration file: $config_file.";
eval(join ('', <CONFIG>));
close (CONFIG);
 
# Init RobotRules parser
my $robotsrules = new WWW::RobotRules($user_agent);
 
# Stores the contents of robots.txt files of any host
my %robots = ();
 
# Initialize the URL queue from the seeds file
my @url_queue = ();
open (SEEDS, $seeds_file) or die "Unable to open $seeds_file.";
foreach(<SEEDS>){
    chomp;
    push @url_queue, $_;
}
close SEEDS;
 
# Set of the already known urls
my %known_urls = map {$_ => 1} @url_queue;
 
# Initialize the URL queue for next step
my @next_url_queue = ();
 
# Value of current iteration
my $iteration = 1;
my $downloaded_pages = 0;
my $downloaded_bytes = 0;
my $created_records  = 0;
my $processed_this_iteration  = 0;
 
print "Content-type: text/plain; charset=s-jis\n\n";
open (DB, ">>$db_file")  or die "Unable to open $db_file.";
flock(DB,LOCK_EX);
 
while ($iteration <= $max_iterations){ $processed_this_iteration = 0; print "-------------------------------------------------------------\n"; print "Iteration number $iteration started.\n"; print "Number of pages to fetch: ".($#url_queue + 1)."\n"; print "-------------------------------------------------------------\n"; # loop on current queue foreach my $url (@url_queue){ $processed_this_iteration ++; $url = normalize_url($url); if(should_process_url($url)){ # Check for robot rules if check enabled if ($ignore_robot_rules || is_robot_allowed($url)){ my $page_text = get_page($url); if ($page_text){ $page_text = normalize_page($page_text); if ($guess_encoding_problems && has_encoding_problems($page_text)){ print "----> Page has unsupported character encoding.\n";
                        next;
                    }
                     
 
                     
                    # get keywords and description
                    my $description = get_description($page_text);
                     
                     
                    my $guess = Encode::Guess::guess_encoding($description);
                    if (ref $guess && $guess->name ne 'shiftjis') {
                    Encode::from_to($description, $guess->name, 'shiftjis');
                    }
 
 
                                 
                     
 
                    #Figure out the encoding 
                    my $keywords    = get_keywords($page_text);
                     
                    my $guess1 = Encode::Guess::guess_encoding($keywords);
                    if (ref $guess1 && $guess1->name ne 'shiftjis') {
                    Encode::from_to($keywords, $guess1->name, 'shiftjis');
                    }
 
                                         
                 
                    if ($description || $keywords) {
                         
                         
                        print DB get_db_record($url, $keywords, $description);
                        $created_records++;
                        flock(DB,LOCK_UN);
                        # Finish if max size reached
                        if ($created_records == $max_db_size){
                            print "-------------------------------------------------------------\n";
                            print "Maximum database size reached ($max_db_size).\n";
                            print_iteration_stats();
                            print "Process completed.";
                            close DB;
                            exit (0);
                        }
                    }
                     
                    # If we have a next iteration then process also anchors
                    if ($iteration < $max_iterations) {
                        my @anchors;
                        my @frames;
                        my @imagemaps;
                    (@anchors)    = $page_text =~ m/<a[^>]*href\s*=\s*["']([^"'>]*)"/gsxi;
                    (@frames)     = $page_text =~ m/<i?frame[^>]*src\s*=\s*["']([^"'>]*)"/gsxi;
                    (@imagemaps)  = $page_text =~ m/<area[^>]*href\s*=\s*["']([^"'>]*)"/gsxi;
                        my @all_links = ();
                        push @all_links, @anchors;
                        push @all_links, @frames;
                        push @all_links, @all_links;
                        my $added_pages = 0;
                        foreach my $anchor (@anchors){
                    my $new_url = get_fully_quialified_url($url, $anchor);
                    unless (defined $known_urls{$new_url}) {
                        push @next_url_queue, $new_url;
                        $known_urls{$new_url} = 1;
                        $added_pages++;
                    }
                        }
                        print "----> New pages found               : $added_pages\n";
                    }
                }
                print "----> Remaining pages for iteration : ". ($#url_queue + 1 - $processed_this_iteration) ."\n\n";
                if ($fetch_pause) {sleep ($fetch_pause);}
            }
        }
    }
    @url_queue = ();
    push @url_queue, @next_url_queue;
    @next_url_queue = ();
    print_iteration_stats();
    $iteration++;
     
}
 
print "Process completed.";
close DB;
 
 
 
my $dbfile   = "spider.dat";
my $keywords = "keywords.dat";
my $urls     = "urls.dat";
my $descr    = "descriptions.dat";
 
open (I, "$dbfile") or die "Unable to open: $dbfile";
my @lines = <I>;
close I;
 
open (K, ">$keywords")   or die "Unable to open: $keywords";
open (U, ">$urls")       or die "Unable to open: $urls";
open (D, ">$descr")      or die "Unable to open: $descr";
foreach (@lines){
    chomp;
    my ($u, $k, $d) = split(/;/, $_, 3);
    print K "$k\n";
    print U "$u\n";
    print D "$d\n";
}
close K;
close U;
close D;
 
@lines = reverse(@lines);
open (K, ">rev_$keywords")   or die "Unable to open: rev_$keywords";
open (U, ">rev_$urls")       or die "Unable to open: rev_$urls";
open (D, ">rev_$descr")      or die "Unable to open: rev_$descr";
foreach (@lines){
    chomp;
    my ($u, $k, $d) = split(/;/, $_, 3);
    print K "$k\n";
    print U "$u\n";
    print D "$d\n";
}
close K;
close U;
close D;
#Sort Alphabetically A-Z
@lines = sort(@lines);
open (K, ">sort_$keywords")   or die "Unable to open: rev_$keywords";
open (U, ">sort_$urls")       or die "Unable to open: rev_$urls";
open (D, ">sort_$descr")      or die "Unable to open: rev_$descr";
foreach (@lines){
    chomp;
    my ($u, $k, $d) = split(/;/, $_, 3);
    print K "$k\n";
    print U "$u\n";
    print D "$d\n";
}
close K;
close U;
close D; 
#Sort Alphabetically Z-A
@lines = reverse sort(@lines);
open (K, ">revsort_$keywords")   or die "Unable to open: rev_$keywords";
open (U, ">revsort_$urls")       or die "Unable to open: rev_$urls";
open (D, ">revsort_$descr")      or die "Unable to open: rev_$descr";
foreach (@lines){
    chomp;
    my ($u, $k, $d) = split(/;/, $_, 3);
    print K "$k\n";
    print U "$u\n";
    print D "$d\n";
}
close K;
close U;
close D; 
 
exit (0);
 
##############################################
# Print last iteration statistics
##############################################
sub print_iteration_stats {
    print "-------------------------------------------------------------\n";
    print "Iteration number $iteration completed.\n";
    print "Total pages downloaded : $downloaded_pages\n";
    print "Total bytes downloaded : $downloaded_bytes\n";
    print "Total records created  : $created_records\n";
    print "-------------------------------------------------------------\n\n";
}
 
##############################################
# Check if a given url should be processed
# according to include/exclude rules
##############################################
sub should_process_url {
    my $url = shift;
     
    foreach my $exclude_rule (@exclude_url_rules){
        return 0 if ($url =~ /$exclude_rule/);
    }
    foreach my $include_rule (@include_url_rules){
        return 1 if ($url =~ /$include_rule/);
    }
     
    return 0;   
}
 
##############################################
# Check if a given url should be processed
# according to content type
##############################################
sub check_content_type {
    my $content_type = shift;
     
    foreach my $exclude_content_types_rule (@exclude_content_types_rules){
        return 0 if ($content_type =~ /$exclude_content_types_rule/);
    }
    foreach my $include_content_types_rule (@include_content_types_rules){
        return 1 if ($content_type =~ /$include_content_types_rule/);
    }
     
    return 0;   
}
 
##############################################
# Check if a given url should be processed
# according to robot rules
##############################################
sub is_robot_allowed {
 
    my $url = shift;
     
    my ($protocol, $rest) = $url =~ m|^([^:/]*):(.*)$|;
  my ($server_host, $port, $document) = $rest =~ m|^//([^:/]*):*([0-9]*)/*([^:]*)$|;  
  if (!$port) {$port = 80;}
   
  my $key = "$server_host:$port";
   
  # If we haven't yet downloaded robot.txt from this host, donload it now
  unless (defined $robots{$key}){load_robot_rules($server_host, $port);}
   
  # Now check rules
  if ($robots{$key}){
        $robotsrules->parse($url, $robots{$key});    
        return $robotsrules->allowed($url);
  }
  else {
    return 1;
  }
}
 
##############################################
# Load robot.txt rules. Gets an internal
# representation of disallow rules that apply to us
##############################################
sub load_robot_rules {
     
    my $host = shift;
    my $port = shift;
 
  my $key = "$host:$port";
     
    my $ua = LWP::UserAgent->new;
    setup_ua($ua);
     
    my $url = "http://$host:$port/robots.txt";
     
    print "--> Fetching: robots.txt for: http://".$host.":".$port."...";
    my $response = $ua->get($url);
    if ($response->is_success){
        $downloaded_bytes += length($response->content);
        $robots{$key} = $response->content;
        print "OK.\n";
    }
    else {
        $robots{$key} = '';
        print "Failed, ignoring it. ".$response->status_line."\n";
    }   
}
 
##############################################
# Gets a page
##############################################
sub get_page {
    my $url = shift;
     
    my $ua = LWP::UserAgent->new;
    setup_ua($ua);
 
    print "--> Fetching: $url......";
    my $response = $ua->get($url);
         
    if ($response->is_success){
        unless(check_content_type($response->header('content-type'))){
            print "Excluded because of content type (".$response->header('content-type').") .\n";
            return "";
        };
        print "OK.\n";
        $downloaded_pages++;
        $downloaded_bytes += length($response->content);
        return $response->content;
    }
    else {
        print "Error. ".$response->status_line."\n";
        return "";
    }
}
 
##############################################
# Setup user agent
##############################################
sub setup_ua {
    my $ua = shift;
    $ua->agent($user_agent);
    $ua->timeout($fetch_timeout);
    $ua->max_redirect($max_redirects);
    $ua->max_size($page_max_size) if (defined $page_max_size);
    $ua->proxy('http', $proxy_url) if ($use_proxy);
}
 
##############################################
# Normalize page content for processing
##############################################
sub normalize_page (){
    my $page_text = shift;
    $page_text =~ s/[\r\n]/ /gsx;
    $page_text =~ s/\s+/ /gsx;
    $page_text =~ s|<!--[^>]*-->||gsx;
    return $page_text;
}
 
##############################################
# Normalize url. If there is no path, be sure to have a / at the end
##############################################
sub normalize_url (){
    my $url = shift;
    if ($url =~ /^http\:\/\/[^\/]+$/i){$url .= '/';}
    return $url;
}
 
 
##############################################
# Build a fully specified URL.
##############################################
sub get_fully_quialified_url {
 
    my ($thisURL, $anchor) = @_;
    my ($has_proto, $has_lead_slash, $currprot, $currhost, $newURL);
 
    # Strip anything following a number sign '#', because its
    # just a reference to a position within a page.
    $anchor =~ s|^.*#[^#]*$|$1|;
 
    # Examine anchor to see what parts of the URL are specified.
    $has_proto = 0;
    $has_lead_slash=0;
    $has_proto = 1 if($anchor =~ m|^[^/:]+:|);
    $has_lead_slash = 1 if ($anchor =~ m|^/|);
 
    if($has_proto == 1){
       # If protocol specified, assume anchor is fully qualified.
       $newURL = $anchor;
    }
    elsif($has_lead_slash == 1){
   # If document has a leading slash, it just needs protocol and host.
   ($currprot, $currhost) = $thisURL =~ m|^([^:/]*):/+([^:/]*)|;
   $newURL = $currprot . "://" . $currhost . $anchor;
    }
    else{
       ($newURL) = $thisURL =~ m|^(.*)/[^/]*$|;
       $newURL .= "/" if (! ($newURL =~ m|/$|));
       $newURL .= $anchor;
     
    }
    return $newURL;
}
 
######################################################
# Get description from HTML comtent
######################################################
sub get_description {
    my $page_text = shift;
    my $description = '';
    if ($page_text =~ m/$description_regexp/gsxi){$description = $1;}
 
    if (length ($description) > $max_description_length){
        ($description) = $description =~ /^(.{0,$max_description_length})\s/gsx;
    }
     
    return $description;
}
 
######################################################
# Get keywords from HTML content
######################################################
sub get_keywords {
    my $page_text = shift;
    my $keywords = '';
    if ($page_text =~ m/$keywords_regexp/gsxi){$keywords = $1;}
 
    if (length ($keywords) > $max_keywords_length){
        ($keywords) = $keywords =~ /^(.{0,$max_keywords_length})\s/gsx;
    }
 
    if (!$keywords && $generate_keywords){
        $keywords = generate_keywords($page_text);
    }
     
    return $keywords;
}
 
######################################################
# Generate a set of keywords from html content
######################################################
sub generate_keywords {
     
    my $page_text = shift;
    my @keywords;
         
    # Remove all tags and get lower case
    $page_text = extract_text($page_text);
    $page_text = lc($page_text);
     
    # Take all words longer than 4 chars
    (@keywords) = $page_text =~ /\s([a-zA-Z0-9\-\@]{5,})\s/gsx;
 
    # Count word frequency
    my %tmp = ();
    foreach my $word (@keywords){
        if (defined $tmp{$word}) {$tmp{$word} += 1;}
        else {$tmp{$word} = 1;}
    }
 
    # Remove duplicates
    my %keyword_hash = map {$_ => 1} @keywords;
    @keywords = keys %keyword_hash;
 
    # Sort according to frequency
    my @out = sort { $tmp{$b} <=> $tmp{$a} } @keywords;
 
    my $keywords = join (', ', @out);
 
    if (length ($keywords) > $max_keywords_length){
        ($keywords) = $keywords =~ /^(.{0,$max_keywords_length})\s/gsx;
    }
     
    return $keywords;
}
 
######################################################
# Generate record to be written to DB
######################################################
sub get_db_record {
    my $url         = shift;
    my $keywords    = shift;
    my $description = shift;
 
    my $record = $db_layout;
    $record =~ s/##KEYWORDS##/$keywords/;
    $record =~ s/##DESCRIPTION##/$description/;
    $record =~ s/##URL##/$url/;
 
    return $record;
}
 
######################################################
# Checks if a page has too many unrecognized characters
######################################################
sub has_encoding_problems {
        my $page_text = shift;
     
        $page_text = extract_text($page_text);
        $page_text = lc ($page_text);
         
        # Remove tags and whitespaces, html escape chars
        $page_text =~ s/\&.{1,5}\;//gsx;
        $page_text =~ s/\s//gsx;
         
        my $original_length = length ($page_text);
        if (!$original_length) {return 0;}
         
        # Remove all good characters
        $page_text =~ s/[a-z0-9]//gsx;
         
        my $strange_chars = length ($page_text);
         
        if ($strange_chars/$original_length > $encoding_problems_threshold){
            return 1;
        }
        else {
            return 0;
        }
}
 
######################################################
# Remove all tage
######################################################
sub extract_text {
    my $page_text = shift;
 
    $page_text =~ s/<script.*?\/script>//gsxi;
    $page_text =~ s/<style.*?\/style>//gsxi;
    $page_text =~ s/<[^>]*>//gsx;
     
    return $page_text;
}
Leave a Reply

