Today, I was reading a book by Kazuyo Kazuma, and found a very interesting result from a statistic, that the amount of books in a household is directly related to the academic ability of the child in the primary stage of education.

My grandad, who passed away when I was nine, left me many books which I treasured. One of many was an encyclopedia for children, another was 情報辞典, which can be translated as information dictionary. Another memorable book he gave me as a young child was 注文の多い料理店 by Kenji Miyazawa.

I guess my hunger for knowledge and information sparked from my grandad’s presents, because I wrote a search engine script in Perl when I was 13, dubbed Mohawk Tiny Search Engine, which I am going to officially release the latest beta this Sunday.

Asked why did you want to create a search engine, I answered, “Because I was not satisfied with the regular search engine, I decided to make my own.”

Personally, I can find a lot more information about certain topics with Mohawk, because it’s tailored to meet my specific and often times special needs.

I really wish my grandad was alive, I could talk to him about so many things, but I’m sure he is quite happy about me, hopefully.

My quest for more knowledge and information will probably continue for a very long time, I don’t think there will be an end to it. My motto is “always improve, sharpen, and develop”.

Good night.

Leave a Reply

