I’m reading “How Computers Can Take Our Jobs” by Noriko Arai.

It is a great book, it covers a lot about machine translation (Google Translate, etc.), what a high level thinking is, etc.

I’m currently interested in how to leverage computing power to make computers work and change computation to money. I’m slowly getting the concepts to this, but there are so many things I have to learn.

It says in the book that one can get immense riches by predicting the future, and see things that are invisible. Well, there are side effects to this, but it interests me. Well, being rich isn’t always bad is it?

Thinking about scalability, it is easy to harness large computation power just by using cloud service like EC2, but in my case, I want the data to be really secure and in the premises. I just can’t trust having the most sensible data on a cloud system just yet. Well, someday, probably that will change.. but until then..

Computers have really high computation power nowadays, like for example, my recently built computer/server/linux box has dual core 3.2Ghz CPU, 8GB of RAM and could be built for about $406. Well, probably you might be able to buy cheaper boxes, but being able to customize the computer/server/linux box is a good thing, because I can test out things like SSD, better CPU, etc.

I don’t know, but I’m thinking quantum computer is already made somewhere in the world, maybe… Just my wild guess. I’ll definitely someday want to buy a personal quantum computer! lol

Leveraging the computing power
will surely be the next immense work power available to most people. Thinking algorithms to harness computing power will not be easy, but well worth the effort.

4 thoughts on “Reading “How Computers Can Take Our Jobs” by Noriko Arai

  1. Hi. Thanks for commenting. This book is actually a book written in Japanese originally titled γ€Œγ‚³γƒ³γƒ”γƒ₯γƒΌγ‚ΏγŒδ»•δΊ‹γ‚’ε₯ͺう」(How Computers Can Take Our Jobs) written in Japanese. I don’t know if the book was translated into English or not.

    1. Thank you very much for explaining!
      Seems like you speak Japanese pretty well. That’s what I will study also, Japanese and robotics πŸ™‚

Leave a Reply

